Nemesis | Book Review

I should have written this book review like days ago, but I have been SLACKING. It’s weird because this has been one of my most FAVORITE books so far this year. I will lowkey blame it on my sadness about having to wait until October to read the sequel and just write the review lol.  Green Vine With Flower clip art

 Title: Nemesis

Author: Anna Banks

Rating (Out of 5 Stars)

Princess Sepora of Serubel is the last Forger in all the five kingdoms. The spectorium she creates provides energy for all, but now her father has found a way to weaponize it, and his intentions to incite war force her to flee his grasp. She escapes across enemy lines into the kingdom of Theoria, but her plans to hide are thwarted when she is captured and placed in the young king’s servitude.

Tarik has just taken over rulership of Theoria, and must now face a new plague sweeping through his kingdom and killing his citizens. The last thing he needs is a troublesome servant vying for his attention. But Mistress Sepora will not be ignored. When the two finally meet face-to-face, they form an unlikely bond that complicates life in ways neither of them could have imagined.

Sepora’s gift may be able to save Tarik’s kingdom. But should she risk exposing herself and her growing feelings for her nemesis?

(via Goodreads)

I. WAS. READY.  Literally my body was ready for this book the moment I took it off the shelf.  When I was at the library picking out books I knew I wanted just fantasy books.  But from just reading the title off the spine of the book I knew I had to read it. Whether it was fantasy or not I was ready to read it.

I wasn’t crazy about the cover at first because I really couldn’t understand the significance behind the silver face paint, but it became clear after reading the book.

I have never been crazy over the idea of having stories told through multiple points of view.  While as a writer stylistically I find it helpful and do enjoy using it to tell my stories, I prefer not to read it.  Does that make me a hypocrite? Lol

In the case of this story it was because I was more interested in reading about the journey Princess Sepora made rather than the story of Tarik, who while did perk my interest after a while… I had zero interest in him at the beginning.

Despite the fact that I wasn’t crazy about reading the story through multiple POVS I did find myself enjoying from pretty much the start.

5 out of 5 fuh-reaking stars.

I stand by my decision to give Nemesis a perfect score.  I feel like this entire book review has been quite lacking thus far because I’m for some reason having a hard time explaining why I loved it so much.  Does this mean that I need to reread it again? possibly. Will I object to doing so? Absopositutely not!

If you have stuck with me until this point thank you I will do my best not too let you down with the rest of this review.

Look the book was ah-mazing~.  

While I would not pick it as the most amazing example for how to execute world building I found the intricacies of the world that Banks wove throughout the story to be very intriguing.  There were a few info dumps, but given the necessity of giving the reader a completely understanding of the world I have excused it.

I can handle a few info dumps because they were in relatively small bursts and the

Reasons Nemesis was awesome:

  • The Creatures. 

There were so many fantastical creatures introduced in this book. Ones that sold me on the world she was building around her story immediately (who doesn’t love dragons? and mermaid-esque creatures????)

  • The MFC. 

I don’t think I’ve loved a main character as much as I have loved her.   Sepora is literally the female MC that we’ve always craved.  She’s genuine, intelligent, and she has a freaking backbone!  Listen to me. Any book with a strong female character in it is a 5 star in my eyes.  She was definitely my favorite part of this book.  Having a strong female character who didn’t throw away her morals, or opinions even for love is SO rare in YA books… heck books in general. Sepora is a GEM a literal Gem of a character and I LOVE HER.

  • Did I mention the Dragon Like creatures?!

All in all the book rounded out to be a FANTASTIC read.  I feel like I have ants in my pants waiting to get my hands on the sequel! It comes out October 3rd and you can definitely count on me reviewing that on this blog in the near future.

Green Vine With Flower clip art

What are your thoughts on books told from multiple POVS? What do you think defines a strong female MC? Who else do you think is a strong female MC? From what book? Please recommend books with strong MFCs I am in dire need of more!

 

 

 

Connect with me on other social media!

tumblr| instagram | twitter | pinterest | facebook

 

4 thoughts on “Nemesis | Book Review

  1. Ooh, this book sounds SOOOOO good! I really want to read it now!
    A couple of my favourite series with strong female main characters are Song of the Lioness and Protector of the Small by Tamora Pierce. I love the characters in them SO much.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

