Fanfiction – The Pros and Cons | #WednesdayWrites

Fanfiction.

You either love it or you hate it.  There’s really no in between.  Fanfiction can be good for a lot of things:

  1. Tying up loose ends that weren’t solved in the book (or movie, TV series etc)
  2. Exploring subplots that you didn’t get to see happen
  3. Exploring the stories of other characters, whom you might have loved, but not gotten enough of them
  4. Even just cheering yourself up about a really good series, book, TV show, or movie being over.

But there’s a lot about fanfiction to consider when you’re a writer. As a reader and writer I personally LOVE fanfiction.  Some people would argue that writing fanfiction as a writer is detrimental to your own original work.  And in some ways they’re right.  Today’s post is the Pros and Cons of writing fanfiction.

Green Vine With Flower clip art

PROS

  • You get to write things the way you wanted them to turn out exactly the way you want it to be.
  • You’re working with a world and characters that have already been developed. In this case it helps me when I’m writers blocked. I don’t have to worry about creating characters nor developing any worlds I just get to write without worrying too much about those details.
  • Alternately, you can use the characters in a different world. Or the world with different characters. The options are endless when you want to practice techniques.
  • Did I mention practice? It’s really good for practice. (Can you tell I’m the kind of person who likes to practice things lol)

CONS

  • Sometimes you get too sucked into the story line or the characters that you lose sight of how to be original. It becomes a crutch. You can’t handle creating your own world so you borrow from one that’s already been made, or you all you’re really in love with a character that you can’t bear for them not to be in what you write.
  • You can’t come up with your own ideas. I know that ties in with being original, but in a way it’s different. Nothing anymore is completely original as there are many, many slightly different versions to the princess being rescued by the prince among other plots.  BUT a good writer should be able to put a cool, original spin on a plot that’s been done many times over. Writing fanfiction too long sometimes affects your ability to come up with those twists that make your story stand out from others.
  • All your characters turn out same-y. Like with plot bunnies. Sometimes you return to writing original work and when you read it back you realize that your MC turns out to be a little too much like your favorite character.
  • You get so used to writing fanfiction that you don’t want to write anything original. When you’re feeling lazy you just want to write stuff that’s all developed already (not to be confused with not being able to be write original things with not wanting to write original things because it’s easier to write fanfiction)Green Vine With Flower clip art

I will admit to being addicted to writing fanfiction. Some months I find myself only writing fanfiction.  But the reason I want to be a writer is because I enjoy writing.  And I know there are times when you just have to force yourself to write, but a majority of the time I tend to not want to force myself to write so I more often than not these days end up writing fanfiction.

For me the pros outweigh the cons.  I still need a lot of practice and for me, I find that fanfiction is what helps best.  It may not be the best practice, but everyone has their own opinions. I really enjoy the idea of expanding on a world, giving it a twist to make it somewhat your own.

Green Vine With Flower clip art

Do you like fanfiction? Do you write fanfiction? To you do you think that the pros outweigh the cons?

 

 

 

Connect with me on other social media!

tumblr| instagram | twitter | pinterest | facebook

2 thoughts on “Fanfiction – The Pros and Cons | #WednesdayWrites

  1. I think fanfiction’s cool! Fanfic writers don’t get enough credit — fanfiction is pretty much like original writing, save for a few aspects, and original writing is HARD. I don’t write it, but when I was little I wrote stories that were a liiiiiiiiiiittle too similar to books I read. 😂 Great post!

    Like

    • LOL I was like that when I was younger too! they were all too samey to see the light of day. I agree fanfiction writers don’t get enough credit. Some fanfiction writers have ruined my emotions and heart better than some published book authors lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

