The Glass Arrow | Book Review

And we’re back to fantasy my friends! You have no idea how excited I was to dig into this book.  For real this is probably one of my most recent favorites. Its probably going to be my fave read of the month.Green Vine With Flower clip art

 Title: The Glass Arrow

Author: Kristen Simmons

Rating (Out of 5 Stars)

The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group of women on the run from the men who hunt them, men who want to auction off breeding rights to the highest bidder.

In a world where females are scarce and are hunted, then bought and sold at market for their breeding rights, 15-year old Aya has learned how to hide. With a ragtag bunch of other women and girls, she has successfully avoided capture and eked out a nomadic but free existence in the mountains. But when Aya’s luck runs out and she’s caught by a group of businessmen on a hunting expedition, fighting to survive takes on a whole new meaning.

(via Goodreads)

I wasn’t one hundred percent sold on the book just based off of a combination of summary + cover. Not at first glance, but after reading the first chapter I was pulled in. It sounded like something I would definitely read.   I figured it would be thought provoking, an exaggerated telling of society today.

And that’s why I ultimately pulled it off the shelf and kept it in my pile. I was looking for fantasy books this time, but also something that would make me think.

I genuinely enjoyed the characters in The Glass Arrow.  The MC was fantastic.  Strong willed, and full of fight.

There was so much to love about Aya, but honestly I have more to say about the writing style and world building, than characters this time around.

As a writer, world building is something that I have been learning and working hard to perfect.  Like with most books in the Fantasy genre The Glass Arrow took place in a world different from ours, and it was done beautifully.   It has been a while since an author (in my opinion) has written a book and created a completely new world without using massive information dumps.

All the information about the world that Aya was living in were naturally, subtly threaded into the story line.   The almost seamless-ness of having a complete world being built around you as you read was to me breathtaking.  As a writer I am so appreciative of how well the author managed to pull this off.

This to me is literally G – O – A – L – S.

Okay. It may now seem a little harsh to you that I’ve only given this book 3.5 stars.  I freaking LOVED this book, but I decided that I would be brutally honest about my book reviews so that people could see not just the good, but the bad.

This book was: 

  • an EXCELLENT example of how to properly integrate world building into your stories
  • well written
  • a fantastic show of how to add romance without having it overtake the rest of the story
  • had a good strong MC without her feeling too unreal/unrelatable.

So now that I’ve sung my praises for The Glass Arrow. Why in the HECK have I only given it 3.5 stars?

It D R A G G E D.  Towards the middle of the book I was still waiting for something to happen.  Right around the middle of the book it felt like a whole lot of nothing was going on and I found it kinda boring.  Of course after pushing through maybe one or two more chapters it started picking up, but then it felt like things started going too fast.

I’m not complaining I swear! It felt like too much was crammed into it towards the end that there wasn’t enough time to really come to grips with what was happening.  lol I’m trying to explain without giving too much away because I do still recommend reading the book and would rather not spoil anything.

The whole book overall is broken up into 3 sections each called a “book” on its own.  I suppose that could be the reason for why things felt like they moved too fast. They were sectioned off to signify the big things happening and I suppose that had it been pulled off correctly it would have been amazing. But for me… It just didn’t work.

I really wanted it to work, but it just felt like book 2 and 3 were too fast and had not enough meat in it to really care about everything that happened.

How do you feel about books that are sectioned off into smaller “books” within the actual book?

 

 

 

Connect with me on other social media!

tumblr| instagram | twitter | pinterest | facebook

 

4 thoughts on “The Glass Arrow | Book Review

  1. World building, while important in almost every genre of literature, is absolutely essential to a successful fantasy story, so it is nice to hear that the author does it well. Pacing can definitely be an issue, and if the prose is well written it can sometimes come off that the author is either showing off or has lost their own way within the narrative. I have never personally given too much thought to when books are sectioned off into smaller books, but this is definitely something I’ll keep in mind when I come across it in the future. Great review!

    Like

  2. Great review! I’m tempted to try this one, although I’m unsure as I’m not keen on books that drag too much, although I love the idea of the world building ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly I would give it a try regardless. The thing about book reviews is they’re like beauty. In the eye of the beholder. Even though there’s going to be overlap its definitely going to be a different experience for you. It’s really a good book it won’t drag too, too much so I recommend trying it out anyways! You might not find that it drags. I have a really short attention span, which might be a huge reason for why I thought it dragged.
      Oh yeah I loved the subtle world building in this book it was refreshing to read without information dumps on the setting :’) #worthit!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

