Why I Don’t Have a Favorite Author

Green Vine With Flower clip art
Over my many years as a bookworm I have been asked:

Who is your favorite author?

B Y E. That is the last thing I’d like to be asked personally.  If you’ve ready as many books as I have (which I’d imagine most people who currently follow my blog match the number and probably surpass it) then you’d know that there are just too many amazing authors.  Its actually become a bit like a pet peeve for me to be asked who my favorite author is.  Nevertheless the question is still asked.

And a couple years ago (for maybe the first 2 years of high school) I would have told you Sarah Dessen.  I can hear those insta love haters sniffing me out right now.  Sarah Dessen used to be my favorite author.  I won’t deny it.  I used to be absolutely in love with those cheesy romance novels that influence the way you think relationships should be. That is a story for another day though.

Today if you asked me I would probably give you one of two answers

1. I don’t have one.

2. Which Genre?

Number one is like taking the easy way out. If I don’t feel like going into a long rant I’ll just say that I don’t have one give a sheepish little smile and pray that they let me get back to my book. (Most of the time when I’m asked that its because I’ve been caught reading in public).  But if I’m down for an discussion/argument I’ll definitely say “which genre” and even if it’s not asked I’ll go in to my reasons as to WHY I said it.

Books are different that’s why they’re categorized into genres.  To me asking who my favorite author is and not giving me a specific genre is like asking me to compare apples to oranges to peaches to pineapples.  Its not something I’ll likely do (not anymore).  It always leaves me with a question… how can you fairly compare an author of one genre to an author of another genre?

Green Vine With Flower clip art

Do you have a favorite author? Do you agree when I saw comparing books (and authors) from different genres is like comparing completely different fruits?

 

 

 

Connect with me on other social media!

tumblr| instagram | twitter | pinterest | facebook

10 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Have a Favorite Author

  1. I will never for the life of me be able to answer that question. When someone does have the guts to ask me, I usually go “Check out my bookcase and just see what’s in there.” Problem solved. The books that aren’t in my bookcase are the books I didn’t particularly like reading; only the good ones stay, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s just too difficult! Man even having someone look at my bookcase won’t tell them much. I rarely buy books these days. I should have it reflect my favorites shouldn’t I lol. That would definitely help me out with that question!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha, I always go “So, those are the shelves with my favourites. And those shelves are the books I still have to read. Oh, and those three piles over there are TBR as well.”
        Cue the shame right there when people their eyes cannot open any further, haha! [No, I don’t have a book buying problem. Why would you think that?!]
        But yup, bookcases are a huge help if you keep your favorites in there!

        Like

  2. I love favourites so I like those questions a lot – hehe. I rank my favourites and sort of have an elaborate system, which I’ve had since I was a kid. But I learnt that not everyone likes having favourites. One of my friends hates being asked about her favourite anything because it makes her feel restricted. For me, I love to categorise and define and systemise so favourites are one my big loves.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Its totally okay to have favorites! It’s just not for me. I love categorizing things and organizing, but I can’t just pick one favorite it’d have to be a list of many favorites, which sort of defeats the point of having a favorite imo. Though I suppose I could pick favorites in different categories? lol

      Like

      • That’s what I do – hehe. I love having faourites in different categories and having a top three, so that way I can include so many books and authors – so fun!

        Like

  3. Ooh yes! I definitely don’t have just ONE favorite author (I have six). I SO agree that you can’t compare authors of different genres because they’re just so DIFFERENT. (Although my favorite authors have written some fantasy at some point. 😂) Great discussion, Sarah!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

